Check this out…

“Check this out,” I said. I sent off the link to Dad’s new Daddalie blog, a little project I’ve been working on to transfer my old publication to the new millennium and to get something in Dad’s hands he can pass around. I thought I’d just include my back and forths over the last week or so, so you could get a feel for the family “action.”

Monday, August 10, 2009:
Take a look and see what I am missing. I’d appreciate any pictures you thought would be good. Also any other things to post on the blog. I will be using this to print a book too. We can add at any time. You can also write comments and add to the posts.

It’s a surprise for Dad so no one else has seen it yet.
xxRobin

Cue the crickets. I haven’t heard from anyone. I’m pretty sure my message didn’t go through, so…

Wednesday, August 12, 2009, 8:49 a.m.
Did anyone get this and look at this? I haven’t heard from anyone.
Robin

Wednesday, August 12, 2009, 9:00 a.m.
Odd—I don’t recall getting that email but sometimes google doesn’t forward everything. I probably can’t add much but what about something on his box of hats. I recall him making me try on a few. Or a What’s in his garage—can you get a photo and make notes about what’s in the photo?

John Travis
European News Editor

O-oooo I do remember Dad hauling hats out and having John put each and every one on!! What a sport John was! Am taking the garage idea under advisement.

Friday, August 14, 2009, 8:47 a.m.

I found the attached photo on my computer — I’m pretty certain my originals of these photos are in storage, though. Maybe someone has a better scan? The blog looks good!

Kate Travis
Contributing editor, north Europe, Science Careers

Ahhhhh! The first comment. And with an exclamation mark. Cool.

Friday, August 14, 2009, 4:03 p.m.
Nice picture. Who took it? JT?
Dan

Saturday, August 15, 2009, 8:27 a.m.
I recall that Marianne recruited some visiting Illini people to take the photo. I remember about 7 cameras being used and the poor volunteers had to suffer instruction on all 7 cameras.
Tom

This back and forth makes me giggle. I am taking the plunge and just plain announcing, here’s a blog celebrating our Dad’s Daddalies. It’s not perfect but I thought you’d enjoy it and perhaps it will grow into something even more swell. I’d like to add birthdays, maybe a calendar, maybe links to our blogs and presence on the Internet. For sure I’d like to add more pictures. Feel free to leave a comment or send me stuff to post!

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Daddalies: Ralph A Moehrke. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

