Mindfulness

I think if your current goal is knowing when, exploring mindfulness and intentionality a bit deeper is beneficial to getting to that goal. This morning I took some time off. My husband went off to church and I went back to bed. (Sometime I’ll write about my theory that sleep is wasted on the young.) I am a person that appreciates having the house to myself, the quiet and sense of being alone especially. Always knowing there is an end–it’s not a permanent desire by any means! I slept a little then turned on the radio and a show on NPR, “Speaking of Faith.” In an interview with John Kabat-Zinn the host, Krista Tippet explored stress effects and the science of mindfulness. Here’s the website and you can listen to the interview and explore the production blogs.

Speaking of Faith

John Kabat-Zinn talks to the folks at Google about meditation.

I think I probably have been a meditator by nature. I have a physical need to sit in the rocker my husband made and stare out the window each morning. I find this gets me centered. I pray. I breathe…although the way my mind wanders I wonder how useful it has really been. Perhaps with a little discipline and purpose I can direct my mindfulness a bit better.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Stuff I think about and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

