Junior the neighbor cat

Junior
Hershey’s hates his name.
 
 
This stripey boy cat is from next door. We call him Junior…because he seems to want to be just like our Boomer. He hates his name. The neighbor couple named him “Hershey’s, after the chocolate. Take a look at him. It just doesn’t fit. I am convinced that is why he hangs out at our house. This picture was taken as he greeted me in the driveway, then ran and threw himself across the threshhold to block my way in. Not without him he thinks. He likes to come in the house. He helps himself to Boomer’s food, then takes a lap around the house.
 
In the last few weeks the windows have been open and Junior sits on the window sill and keeps an eye and ear out for what is going on inside. He even inserts himself into conversations. He offers opinions and running commentary. He is especially vocal if I am talking on the phone. I think I actually watch what I say…he is pretty young.
 
Our house, Boomer’s house, seems to be the cat Kool-ade house on the blook. Cats come and hang out here. Near as I can tell there are about 5 neighbor cat friends. I thought they were all boys. I named them. Dexter is white with funny black spots that are white underneath. Dezi is mostly black and kind of shiny. And there is a girl I think. I haven’t decided on a name for her. If it weren’t for the pink collar, I wouldn’t have known she is a girl. Well, that’s not exactly true. The boys don’t like her much. They make her sit way off to the side and they hiss and growl at her. She is pretty opinionated too and lets me know if I look alright on my way to the car.
 
I am not sure what it means that I carry on conversations with cats. I can tell you they seem grateful and they are good company.  
 
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Cat stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

