People transitions

People come and go from our lives. I had to say goodbye to a coworker this last week. He moved on to family responsibilites and a new direction in his life. He really was an awesome assistant and a great coworker. We shared an office and had similar workstyles and work ethics. He let me ooze into the day and seemed to have the intuitive ability to know when it was okay to insert himself and when to back off. We shared woes. We also shared plenty of success. He was an encourager and an honest voice even when it was hard to hear.
 
His leaving caught me by surprise considering what I just wrote. I didn’t see it coming. This isn’t really surprising since what we topically shared was more general than specific. We both have personal boundaries we respected. Yet I was surprised, shocked, sad, and felt very pitiful for myself. He helped me look good. He helped me do good work. I had an entire afternoon pity party…I shed tears and oh so unprofessionally!
 
After I got over myself, I started to realize his leaving was in fact something I did know would happen…eventually. Nobody that talented and awesome stays forever. He also made it clear if his responsibility and circumstances change he would be moving back to the place he considered home. And, I truly want better for him. I want him to “fly” higher. How on earth can I not want something that will more complete him or not want what the Lord has planned for him next? My part is to encourage and let him fledge.
 
He is in my prayers and in my heart.
 
 
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Work & Leadership and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

