I think I need a list

My tall sister makes lists. She makes a grocery list adding to it as she thinks of things needed or mentioned by her family. She makes a list of errands to do on the way to the grocery store. She makes a list of things to do to get ready for company. She makes plant lists for her garden. I am pretty sure she still makes a wish list.
 
Me, I try to make lists. I am a head organizer. Much as I love paper I don’t really organize myself that well on paper. I keep it in my head mainly. I do a little bit better electronically. I like Outlook. I like my Treo. I like tadalist.com. Really, I do like the idea of lists. They are a way to focus, or manage time or resources. A list puts order to things, gives nonlinear stuff a linear momentum. I even have asked for others to make and give me lists thinking it gives some accountability so I have done the same.
 
Perhaps it’s having too many lists in too many locations? Perhaps it’s not keeping something to write on close at hand. The list in my head always seems to win most often. Except when I get tired. When I get tired or stressed my head list fails. I forget. The path isn’t focused. It’s like having popcorn for brain cells. It’s like having a chaotic fractal in my head with no pattern forming.
 
Clearly I need to take a page out of my sister’s book and get better at lists. Time to pick a system and stick with it.
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Stuff I think about and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

