Time got away

I noticed in the blogs I read that nearly every one of them posts a time-got-away-from-me note. I would insert links so you could see but you know who they are and they know who they are so let’s not celebrate it…for fear it would get turned back to me!

The only exceptions are the folks who get paid to blog. That’s because they have and keep deadlines, and, they get paid. It’s their job. At least that is my guess. I know it would not work for me in my Churchrobin World to say, sorry Finance Committee, no reports, time got away from me. Or, sorry staff, no payroll, time got away from me. Or, sorry children, school is not going to start, time got away from me. Well maybe that one would work. The point is, a paycheck sort of sets the priority and a personal blog update that one doesn’t get paid to do is not going to be a priority unless you have, as a friend of mine calls them, “thousands of readers” and the overwhelming need to say what you need to say.

Priorities in a mature persons world are clearly defined. I tell my staff that God comes first, then your family, then your job, then all the stuff after that. That would be blogging since for most of us it probably falls into the amusing hobby category. The need to shoot words out your fingers is pathological and basely organic for just a few. Most, even some gifted writers, angst and gnash teeth in order to sit down and write something intelligent, or chatty, or inspirational for family and friends and the world beyond, the thousands of readers.

Even those who use blog writing as activity avoidance for something ordinary they most certainly should be doing instead…laundry, mowing the lawn, grocery shopping, ironing, sleeping, etc….reach the point where having to blog becomes ordinary. The novelty wears off. It becomes a chore. Brain cells dry up. Time gets away and the thousands of readers go wanting!

I suppose that is how the Lord weeds out those who should be writing from those who have gifts that need to be focused in other places. Someday, I have every hope and dream to write something of value. Something that is published. For now, with no readers, I write for me. There really isn’t a deadline. The discipline needed to write should be like breathing in and out and the evidence one might be ready to go to the next level is not having to begin a blog post with “time got away.”

Father God, help me use my time wisely and in Your best service.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

