Audit

Hear the word audit and I bet you flinch. Hear the words, you are going to be audited and I bet you flinch and your gut twists and maybe your head spins a little. Audits probably strike fear in most people.
 
I have to say that has been my reaction in the past. As a support staff member the preparation and work of it was exhausting, then the mental anguish caused by dealing with rather unpleasant people made for a lot of angst. Part of it was the fact that I had no control nor real understanding of how valuable an audit could or should be.
 
I think if you run your show transparent and according to all the rules it’s like anyone who does their job really well, it is effortless, has integrity, and will stand up to scrutiny. That’s what I am praying for. Tomorrow we meet with a very nice CPA who is going to take us on a tour or review through our stuff to see how we are doing. It’s not a full blown audit, but that is coming. I expect to be learning a lot. I expect he will find some chinks in our process. But I also expect he will find things in good order.
 
I have made a mental list of the stuff I should probably anticipate as being a problem. I am not worried. It is stuff we can deal with.
 
In the mean time I expect I will be learning a lot. I pray that is so.
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Work & Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

