Holiday weekend observations

  1. People should be patriotic more times of the year. Flying flags, parades, picnics, fireworks, band concerts are on most folks list of stuff to do. For some reason, not sure why, Worship and church is not part of the tradition.
  2. It’s possible to go to a hamburger restaurant on July 4th but not the Greek restaurant next door.
  3. Rain on a holiday weekend in San Antonio is cause for celebration alone. We had rain and we loved it.
  4. It is possible to be so exhausted that mere nothing is entertainment. I spent a great deal of time watching birds out my window, watching deer out my window, watching the cats out the window, watching my husband wash the windows, and watching neighbors picnic in their backyards.
  5. I did not miss work. I did not find a way to work anyway. I ignored my bag o’ work sitting in the kitchen. Didn’t even crack my bag open. Didn’t write a work e-mail. Didn’t even read work e-mail. Well maybe just one or two….a friend was in the hospital and my work e-mail was the only one on the update list…does that count?
  6. Time at home with your spouse is important. Breathing the same air, picking music for the Bose, bumping shoulders in the kitchen, going to a movie, sitting on a park bench, and coaxing a caress are about as exotic as a trip to Tahiti for my work focused self, and just as exciting.
  7. People nap in bookstores. Snoring even. I wonder if Mr. Barnes and Mr. Nobles planned it that way?
  8. Pizza Hut should reconsider making that new thing a whole pound heavy. That thing is huge but tasty.
  9. I noticed our garbage men had to work. Thanks guys.
  10. Star We should be more patriotic more times of the year.

 

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

