Being alone

Lately, our new PastorBoss has been starting staff meetings off with a devotional exercise that includes readings and contemplation. The theme seems to be taking the time to be in quiet or making space for God. He has talked about making special time to be alone and be fine with being alone so a state of prayer and communion with God can be achieved. In the process of reading and looking at the copied pages from a book from his library a couple of things have struck me.
 
Mostly though I am thinking through my own need for quiet and alone time in my very own space. I have a physical and emotional need to have space to myself. There is something different about the intentional time alone. Whilst pastor talked as if this might be a new concept to us, I wanted to discuss why this might be? Don’t all people need and keep time of contemplation? Doesn’t everyone have "space" for God. I guess not.
 
But, quiet or alone is not the only time I am in communion with our Lord and Savior. He occupies every space I am in. I talk to Him minute by minute sometimes. He is in my thoughts and surrounds me…..HE guards my heart! I breathe Him in and breathe HIM out. There really isn’t much time each day when the Lord isn’t in my world with me. My days are filled with people, noise, and busyness. I can’t say as it would be possible to get through a day without being in direct contact with God.
 
I realize I make the choice to do so. I could easily get distracted by the worldly and be tempted to forget whose I am. Having lived in a state of less than and sin I intentionally work at staying and being close to the Lord. I am successful mostly and I do slip. I am tempted often. I am not perfect.
 
I guess my new PastorBoss is right, it’s the quiet where it’s possible to hear God speak into your life. It’s those queit times in contemplation, the wise and spirtual relationship with God can grow.
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in All Things. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Being alone

  1. Bruce says:

    Amen and thank you for sharing.

  2. Robin says:

    Thanks for stopping in here and writing over at your blog. I am praying you will write more my Pastor friend.
     
    BTW I meant to edit this blog entry before publishing and I bet you know where….and I have now.

Leave a Reply

