Nonfeasance is the word of the day

Know what that word means? Go ahead, look it up. Wait, let me do it for you:
 
 
It’s like the perfect word to learn at the end of this week considering how much I didn’t get done, a-gain. What’s the problem? Is there just one thing to blame? Is there a someone to blame? What’s the plan?
 
Well okay, what is the problem? Did someone take away hours in the day, are there still 24? Yup. There are still 24 hours in a day. And, as my father would tell me, 8 hours for work, 8 hours for play, 8 hours for rest.
 
Who keeps that kind of schedule? Anyone? Speak up here?? I dare you!
 
Nope, in my world my day has a combined work and play total and probably I can count 8 hours for rest if you count sleepless achey tossing and turning as rest. At last I am prone.
 
I guess if you suffer nonfeasance you need something or someone to blame. However, I don’t think it’s that easy. No one thing can be blamed just like no one thing was total failure. Some of my time management books say to focus on just one thing. Cut the multitasking. That is a lofty goal and I might try it sometime but it’s very not possible to not multitask at my job. I think the Lord planned it that way. It seems that way anyway.
 
I think that it is rare that work has a beginning, middle, and end. I think it’s much more likely, especially for smart and talented folks, that answers come in waves and can grow and roll therefore making a chore or task flow and ebb like a wave on a beach. I think being open to discovery and options ebbs things for sure! My work job is like this.
 
At my volunteer job at my Worship Church, my work actually does have a beginning middle and end, and it’s the goal to do it timely and intentionally. It’s rather a simple job but it’s very rewarding and probably for that reason. You can also count on someone saying thank you, or thinking you are a swell part of the team, maybe even inviting you to be a Facebook friend. I did not suffer nonfeasance there today. It kind of makes up for a bit of my nonfeasance week in fact.
 
The things that don’t get done are often the things that aren’t emergencies. I had a lot of time taken with relational things this week. Relational things take time and should be a priority I think, especially if that stuff doesn’t come naturally.
 
New also takes time and no matter how you plot and plan, the new stuff in the mix might have other plans. Okay, so I am not good at new either, especially new people. Especially new smart people with ideas of their own.
 
So what didn’t get done? Paperwork, forms needing filling out, calls, filing, report creation, and reading, lots of reading. I guess if that’s the case, the people stuff was the correct priority. That paper stuff can wait.
 
Sweet Lord,
Help me organize myself as well as I organize others. Help me make a way to take care of the paper responsibilities. Help me to gain back some family time from my work-a-day world. Thank you for my swell job and my gifts and talents and all the people I get to work with. Help me to glorify you in all I do. Amen
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in All Things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

