Happy Scintilla Day

Today my word of the day calendar features the word "scintilla" which is defined as a noun that indicates a minute amount; an iota, or trace; a spark; a flash. Today is also my husband’s and my mother’s birthdays. Birthday cakeBirthday cake
 
So, may any problems in the next year be mere scintillas for both of them!
 
I am not sure how either of them feel about having a birthday. I know I basically like the idea of having a day to celebrate a person’s birth and entrance into the world including my own, and I never used to mind that something was being added or marked to indicate quantity. But lately, I can’t even say my age number out loud. Today my husband catches up to my number but for 6 months of the year he is my younger man. I asked him this morning if he knew how old he was and he did. I had to do the math, that’s how in denial I am.
 
Don’t get me wrong, age is a gift and so is maturity. It brings wisdom and confidence and the ability say no, set boundaries, and of course an appreciation for what’s truly important. I think patience is improved too. The huge problems of our 20’s and 30’s HAVE become scintillas from the perspective of age. We have giggled over the drama we created over silly things. I wouldn’t choose to be that age again and I doubt my husband or mother would either. It wasn’t better, or easier.
 
I think the hard part of accepting another mark of years is the deduction in the time left on the other end. Let’s face it, if you are having a great life, filled with loves like my husband and my mother (and a lot of others), less is not more.
 
Anyway, Happy Birthday to my husband whom I have known since we were Freshman in high school, the father of my amazing daughter, and a caring, loving, godly man. A friend of mine noted that my husband exudes the presence of God in his heart. He does and my heart nearly bursts at my good fortune to share lives together.
 
And, Happy Birthday to my mom, the woman who gave birth to me, and who has loved me through and inspires me still. She has a landmark birthday today. We are far from each other this birthday, but my heart is close. So are my prayers.
 
So, my wish for both of them is that they have a year filled with health and success, but most especially, blessings that are anything but scintillas!
 
Red heart
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

