Tell me why

Back when I was involved with Home Interiors and Gifts, I had the privilege of attending the annual convention, called Seminar, held in Dallas, Texas. I was a resident of Wisconsin back then and a trip to Texas was a big deal. Founder Mary Carter would speak and we would listen in rapt attention. She was a wise, loving woman. (I think she’d be so sad to know what her company is going through right now.) Anyway despite all the hoopla and “show” involved, she would ask everyone to sing with her this favorite song, which everyone in Texas, at least Reunion Arena, seemed to know. I guess it’s a children’s Sunday School song and not having grown up in that kind of church, it wasn’t part of what i knew. Everyone sang, and in harmony. It was wonderful and memorable. I don’t think I ever really have known all the words. Sometimes I will start it and someone around me will finish it! But the first words of the song have always stuck in my head and I find myself humming the tune. I woke up with it in my head this morning. Do you know this song?
Tell me why the stars do shine,
Tell me why the ivy twines,
Tell me why the skies are blue,
And I will tell you just why I love you.Because God made the stars to shine,
Because God made the ivy twine,
Because God made the sky so blue,
Because God made you, that’s why I love you.

I really think that dear God above
Created you just for me to love;
He picked you out from all the rest
Because he knew that I’d love you the best.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in All Things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

