Mother’s Day

I think the real name for Mother’s Day ought to be Women Who Have Influenced a Child or Two Day. Red heart
 
I have, and have had, some amazing women in my life. They haven’t all given birth. And they aren’t and haven’t necessarily been older than me. Nevertheless they are women who impact and have influence on the children around them. I am grateful for them and like to recognize their contribution to making the planet a better place. These women deserve a day, a prize, a hug, a prayer. They babysit, teach, auntie, rock, sometimes just neighbor, but always influence because they are women of character and integrity.
 
I work with some awesome women. They are mostly mothers themselves and are pretty big fans of their own children. They live and breathe ministry and are in constant motion as they come alongside those around them. One of the young women I work with has two sons. I imagine they are especially proud of their mama this year. She became a citizen and she is working on her GED. She works hard for them. She wants them to have a better life, and she wants them to have a good example. I am so proud of her and in awe!
 
My newest women friends are high on pedestals. They are mothers of amazing children and manage to find time to care and encourage me by making me feel wise and connected to their worlds despite the whirlwind pace a mother must go in 2008. The little blink I get makes me happy and hopeful. They are listed below in my "Friends" because I see them more here than in person. Nevertheless, they feel close to my heart.
 
My related women are the most awesome of all. We share history, family, a home state, an accent…and mutual admiration for each other. Our kids have benefitted from the love and respect we have for each other. My own mother and grandmothers began with a legacy of hard work, faithful and steadfast strength. We never even wondered what it might be like to not have this as our guide…it’s in our genes as much as our brown eyes.
 
So celebrate Mother’s Day because we all had a mother, but more celebrate the women in your life who have had influence on you and your family. And if you are a woman, remember to "reach back" as Joel Osteen says, and push another woman forward, be the strong force she needs to be successful. Children and the planet will always benefit.
 
Thank you Lord, for the women in my life, for their work, their talents and gifts, for their love and integrity. Watch over them and guide them always and guard thier hearts all ways. May they have peace and understanding and serve You well. In Your Son’s Name I pray. Amen.
 
 
 
 
 
 
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

