Runaway failure

I ran away today. I ran away from home. It’s too noisy at my house. There are too many people breathing the air there too. I just long to have quiet, and space to call my own. I just don’t these days. Really, I don’t mind sharing most days, it’s just that today, this week, I’ve had more than the usual bites and snips taken from me. All week, people chew on me, taking big bites or little, it doesn’t matter. It’s like I am worn down all the way to my soul and only quiet and solitude replenishes me.
 
What is it about quiet, solitude, space to myself? Control. It’s my only control.
 
So I ran away to my office where I locked myself in and had the room to myself. After that I tried going home but that still didn’t work for me. So, I escaped to my car and drove a bit. I tried calling a friend who usually has so many people hanging out I figured they might not notice me. But alas, they were busy and my blending in wasn’t an option. I ended up back in my driveway where I sat motionless for some time, until I could face the fact that I am a failure at running away.
 
So, there you have it.
 
 
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in All Things and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

