Day off weather

So, what is the perfect day off weather? I think probably the folks in the office think that any weather will be perfect for me to be away from them! Endless hours, endless weeks, with endless challenges have made me endlessly sarcastic, contrary, and possibly a little dark of thought. Ya think?
 
So I slept in this morning and probably would have slept through my piano tuner’s visit because it’s a wonderfully gray mooky day. But, I forced myself to wake up and get up. It’s cold and damp, dank you might say. It’s been the kind of wet cold gray day that means layers of sweaters. It’s the kind of day my sister would begin to recite from Mother Goose…
 
A misty moisty morning when cloudy was the weather…
 
I have become cloudy of mind and weary, oh so weary. It most certainly is time to take some time off no matter how hard the concept is, no matter the weather. Self preservation has kicked in and it’s time to take care of myself. It’s time to find my life again away from work.  
 
A sunny day WOULD have been better.
 
I might have gone outside and it would have taken my mind off missing work. Gardening, weeding, digging in the dirt are things that help me lose track of time and space. Instead I stayed in and mourned my work world a little, just 17 miles away. I confess I checked in…IM is a cool thing isn’t it? I answered a couple questions, did a couple fixes. They probably could have gotten along without me. In fact I am sure they could. I work with smart people who are way more balanced. 
 
I have a hard time thinking of things to do on a day off. Last week, a perfect sunny day, I helped my friend straighten his cords and lines and tech stuff. For me it was like a spa day getting to put things in order…it was rather like weeding actually. I also got hugs from his kids and I made friends with his dog. It was a slice of heaven and far far from work. (I actually might pay his kids to mess things up so he lets me come back!)
 
Today, I sewed some buttons on, did some laundry, made a pot of chili, and went shopping with my mom. We went out in the cold rain, mom drove, I held tight. Without a structure or purpose, I thought about my office and the people at work. I thought about the stack of folders in my tray, and the work I love. I am still weary on this dreary day. But a little rest and perspective and maybe more time off tomorrow, and I am sure I’ll find my way back.
 
It’s going to be a better day tomorrow.
 
 
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Seasons. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day off weather

  1. Sally says:

    After a rain, there is always a rainbow…

Leave a Reply

