My full armor

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. 18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.
Ephesians 10-18
 
A very empathetic coworker, still kind of new, so ordinary things in our work life are new and "bigger," came to visit me with the scripture above. I hadn’t seen her in several weeks yet she plunked herself down in my rocker and connected in a way that surprised me. I found myself comforted and understood as only a few people who know me well are able. And, I let her.
 
In fact, as I am writing this my eyes are stinging with tears from the sweet thoughts of her words and her prayers for me. I’ve been wearing my armor for months. You’d think I’d be ready for anything. I’ve been thinking I’ve been making a good show, staying positive and strong. But the truth is, my armor isn’t as tough as I thought. My armor isn’t even what I thought. More, my armor is in the strength and talents of those who are pulling close around me. For them I am grateful. They are my armor and my saints and I surely do praise the Lord for them! This song is in my head now…
 
Bless The Lord
By Jeff Deyo
For your beauty,
For your goodness,
And your wisdom.. Awesome God
Praise the Lord oh my soul, Praise the Lord.

For your power,
For your honor,
And your splendor… Mighty God
Praise the Lord oh my soul, Praise the Lord.
Praise the Lord oh my soul, Praise the Lord.

(Chorus:)
And I will worship you,
I will bless your name forever,
I will worship you,
Bless the Lord oh my soul, Bless the Lord
Bless the Lord oh my soul, Bless the Lord

For your Kindness
For your Favor,
For your Mercy.. Gracious One
Thank the Lord oh my Soul, Thank the Lord.

For your fire,
For your testing
And your Spirit… Holy One
Thank the Lord oh my Soul, Thank the Lord.
Thank the Lord oh my Soul, Thank the Lord.

(Chorus)

Bless the Lord oh my Soul,
Bless the Lord oh my Soul, Bless the LORD!

For your Suffering,
For your Anguish
And your sorrow.. humble King,
Bless the Lord oh my soul, Bless the Lord
Bless the Lord oh my soul, Bless the Lord

For your Victory (Victory),
For your Triumph,
And you’ll soon come and reign over all.

And I will worship you, (worship you)
I will bless your name forever. (bless your name)
I will worship you, (worship you)
Bless the Lord oh my Soul, Bless the Lord (My Soul)

And I will worship you, (worship you)
I will bless your name forever. (bless your name)
I will worship you, (worship you)
Bless the Lord oh my Soul, Bless the Lord (Lord, My Soul)
Bless the Lord oh my Soul, Bless the Lord (Lord, My Soul)

Bless the Lord oh my Soul,
Bless the Lord oh my Soul,
Bless the Lord oh my Soul,
Bless the Lord oh my Soul, Bless the Lord (My Soul)

(Our Soul)

 
 
 
 
 
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in All Things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

