Too old for all nighters

At 105 years of age, working all night is painful. This is a hard realization for someone who Believes with a capitol B, "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me." I am still getting over staying up all night and it’s a whole day later and 8 full hours of sleep!
 
Clearly my Father in Heaven is saying He no longer wants me to stay up all night. Although, why then, am I up odd and various hours of the night most nights? My regular sleep is usually just 4-5 hours and those are usually just 2 hour increments. Hard to believe that little sleep would be missed but it was.
 
I seem to be caught in a state of twilight…possibly a bit chemically imbalanced would be a good way to describe it.
 
I’ve tried eating it away. Homemade bread didn’t help. Chocolate didn’t help, Chicken soup didn’t help.
 
Sleep hasn’t helped. Sleep in bed didn’t help. Sleep in a chair didn’t help. Sleep at night didn’t help. I am thinking of trying sleeping during the day today might help. That’s going to be a problem because I have to go to work.
 
I will be working with some youngsters—20 somethings—who probably do this all the time. I’ll get no sympathy and wouldn’t want to admit how cruddy my all nighter made me feel. One of them actually told me I looked tired so I guess I am not hiding it that well. I guess I might be a little crabby too…because a tired Robin can be a crabby Robin…not that I am ever crabby but that sort of explains a few things.  
 
My all nighter buddies seemed to have fared only slightly better and they are really busy guys so can’t stop to catch up on sleep. Poor them. Their families surely hate me! They probably pointed them toward my space here and told them I made them slave over a hot computer all night. Polka dots are probably photoshopped on my face or worse. Nope, no more all nighters for me.
 
Unless…
About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Work & Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Too old for all nighters

  1. Bruce says:

    I laughed out loud at this. My sentiments are much the same. I think I’m just getting over it today. I’ve been like a zombie. But, as you indicated, work has had to continue on albeit on my "vacation" time. The Holy Spirit continues to talk to me about how that we are not overwhelmed when we depend on Him.

Leave a Reply

