Vacation Day 1: Sleep late day

I confess my goal for the first day of vacation was to sleep late. How late? Mid morning late, at least. So, based on that alone my first day was a success. I got up at 9:32 a.m. It was dark and dreary today and it wasn’t hard to sleep that late. I could have gone the distance and slept longer, daughter style longer, but figured I had to stay in shape for the rest of my vacation.

So with my coffee cup full and a fresh pot on the way, computer humming, I sat down to read a little e-mail. The radio station beep beep beeped a storm warning and out the window it was getting very dark. Then the doorbell rang. Yikes! Still in my nightie at 10 a.m. I made the instant decision to answer the door anyway. I figured whoever it was would have to be pretty bold to come out in beep beep beep weather.

I opened the door to see Vanessa, the new and very young neighbor.

“Hi” she said. “Did Hersheys come over to play? I mean, is Hersheys here?” she asked.

“I don’t really know,” I said. ” I just got up.”

Hersheys is the new tabby cat neighbor that lives with Vanessa and her boyfriend and his father right next door. I looked down the hall toward the living room to see if I could spot our tabby cat, Boomer. He was on his way to the door. He can be friendly like that.

“Oh hi Boomer,” Vanessa said, “do you know where Hersheys is?”

Boomer sat as if to think. He blinked back at her, then licked his chest.

“Well, he could be in the garage,” I said. “Let’s go see if he’s in there.”

So I led Vanessa in through the storm darkened house to the garage. We flipped the light on and called for the little kitty that is our big kitty’s buddy and shadow lately. They look so much alike we call him Boomer Jr. Bob says that Boomer Jr. wants to be just like Boomer. I think Boomer Jr just likes hanging out over here because we call him a cooler name. He suffers his own name. You can tell he is embarrassed whenever anyone examines the tag on his collar and wonders if “Hersheys” is his name or his people. It’s the plural maybe? I haven’t been bold enough to ask about that S on the end. Anyway, you don’t name a stripped cat for chocolate candy. It’s just silly.

Well, no Boomer Jr. came out of any of the hidey holes in the garage. I even checked out the back door since Boomer Jr. helps himself to our window sills and other backyard amenities. He is familiar. He has even been indoors. Invited of course. We like him. He has become our spare cat. Unofficially of course, since he clearly has a home.

“Well, he must be tucked away somewhere safe,” said Vanessa. “I bet he might be in our garage.”

Hmm, I bet so, ” I said, wondering why she hadn’t checked there first.

Off she went and I closed the door behind her and thought about getting dressed in case the next Monday visitor was on the way. Instead I went for more coffee. Boomer sat in the kitchen looking at his dish as I poured another cup. I could tell he was trying to make a case for a better breakfast. I don’t fall for this ever so I wonder why he tries. He gave up and walked slowly back to the sofa.

The rest of the day was mostly rain, thunder and rain, thunder, rain, and lightening, and more beep beep beeping from the radio. This means no Internet access and the computer shut down. (That, learned the hard and expensive way.) No matter, there is plenty to do to get ready for my real vacation. My road trip to Kentucky. I made a trip to the grocery store to stock up on road food, then did a couple loads of laundry. I made a pot of spaghetti for dinner, then made a call to my sister to talk through timing. No calls from work, only a few e-mail messages, and I was only tempted to answer two of them. It was a very good first day.

No sign of Boomer Jr. tonight yet. Big Boomer seems a little worried. I think I might be too. I will be glad to see him. I hope he comes for a visit tomorrow to say goodbye before my road trip. Tomorrow is load the car day.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

