President’s Day Off?

It’s President’s Day, somebody’s idea of a holiday that takes two significant birthdays and combines to one day off, on a MONDAY. I’d like to meet that somebody, the person who came up with that idea. I think they are probably a guy or gal after my own heart. Holidays are sometimes just a nuisance. Especially if they fall on a Monday! Two Mondays off in the same month is a really big nuisance. The reality is, dead presidents can’t possibly care if we celebrate their births and if we have the day off!

Who can enjoy a day off like this? So far today I’ve tried to figure out what I can do from home so I am not so far behind tomorrow. Not only that, I’ve even tried to figure out how to “sneak” in to the office without getting noticed. Something that involves car switching or parking in a hidden spot then accessing my office and working in the dark. (As if God or church members won’t notice.)

Cramming 5 days of work into 4 days is the crux of the matter. I don’t even wish for the kind of work that starts and ends so well it fits in a day. I like my mix of things, the planned, the unexpected, the fly by the seat of my pants work I get to do. Maybe, I just wish holidays were better timed.

More the issue is with my work. Why doesn’t it fit into 4 days? Why isn’t it okay if I fall behind? Is that in my head only? As a person who needs to work and meet deadlines, I think not.

You know what I think would really be swell? To have “Holiday Crews.” People available to come in to catch up enough work so holidays like President’s Day could really be a holiday. I think I will lobby for that.

Anyway, happy President’s Day.

About Robin Arnold

Reader, writer, gardener, geek, maker of homes in several states, now settled in Virginia with husband Bob, and Hazel and Wilson the tabby cats.
This entry was posted in Holiday, Work & Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

